People’s Democratic Republic of Algeria


“بالشّعب وللشّعب” (arabic)
“By the people and for the people”


 “Kassaman” (arabic)
“We pledge”


Capital: Algiers
Largest City: Algiers
Total area: 2,381,741 sq km
Climate: Arid to semiarid, mild, wet winters, hot, dry summers, dust/sand-laden wind
Natural resources: Petroleum, natural gas, iron ore, phosphates, uranium, lead, zinc
Border countries: Libya, Mali, Mauritania, Morocco, Niger, Tunisia, Western Sahara

People and Society

Population: 39,542,166
Demonym: Algerian
Languages: Arabic (official), French (lingua franca),Berber dialects: Kabylie Berber
(Tamazight),Chaouia Berber (Tachawit), Mzab Berber, Tuareg Berber (Tamahaq)
Ethnic groups: Arab-Berber
Religions: Muslim 99%, other (includes Christian and Jewish) <1%


Independence: 5 July 1962 (from France)
Government type: Republic
Chief of state: Abdelaziz BOUTEFLIKA (since 1999)


Currency: Algerian Dinar
Exports: Petroleum, natural gas, and petroleum products
Industries: Petroleum, natural gas, light industries,
mining, electrical, petrochemical, food processing

Tourism and Attraction

Beni Hammad Fort-Fortified city
M’zab, natural region of the northern Sahara desert
Casbah of Algiers
Tassili n’Ajjer

The World Factbook