Republic of Angola


“Virtus Unita Fortior” (latin)
“Unity makes strength”


“Angola Avante” (portuguese)
“Forward Angola”


Capital: Luanda
Largest City: Luanda
Total area: 1,246,700 sq km
Climate: Semiarid, cool, dry season, hot, rainy season
Natural resources: Petroleum, diamonds, iron ore, phosphates, copper, feldspar, gold, bauxite, uranium
Border countries: Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Congo, Namibia, Zambia

People and Society

Population: 19,625,353
Demonym: Angolan
Languages: Portuguese (official), Bantu and other African languages
Ethnic groups: Ovimbundu, Kimbundu, Bakongo
Religions: Indigenous beliefs, Roman Catholic, Protestant


Independence: 11 November 1975 (from Portugal)
Government type: Republic
Chief of state: Jose Eduardo DOS SANTOS (since 1979)


Currency: Kwanza
Exports: Crude oil, diamonds, refined petroleum
products, coffee, sisal, fish and fish products, timber, cotton
Industries: Petroleum, diamonds, iron ore, phosphates, feldspar, bauxite, uranium, gold, cement, basic metal products, fish processing, food processing, brewing, tobacco products, sugar, textiles, ship repair

Tourism and Attraction

Caves Nzenzo
Kalandula Waterfalls
Fortress of Sao Miguel
Kissama National Park
Humbi-Humbi art gallery
Maiombe Forest-Cabinda
National Museum of Slavery

The World Facebook
Visit Angola