Burkina Faso


“Unité, Progrès, Justice” (french)
“Unity, Progress, Justice”


“Une Seule Nuit” (french)
“One Single Night”


Capital: Ouagadougou
Largest City: Ouagadougou
Total area: 274,200 sq km
Climate: Tropical, warm, dry winters, hot, wet summers
Natural resources: Manganese, limestone, marble, deposits of gold, phosphates, pumice, salt
Border countries: Benin, Cote d’Ivoire, Ghana, Mali, Niger, Togo

People and Society

Population: 18,931,686
Demonym: Burkinabe
Languages: French (official), Moore, Mandinka, Bambara (native languages)
Ethnic groups: Mossi, Gurunsi, Lobi, Senufo, Bobo, Mande, Fulani
Religions: Catholic, Muslim, Animist, Protestant


Independence: 5 August 1960 (from France)
Government type: Parliamentary Republic
Chief of state: Michel KAFANGO (interim President since 2014)


Currency: West African CFA franc
Exports: Gold, cotton, livestock
Industries: Cotton lint, beverages, agricultural processing,
soap, cigarettes, texitles, gold

Tourism and Attraction

Bangr Weogo Park
Mossi Village Kokologo
Fabedougou Dome
Ruins of Loropéni
Karfiguela Waterfall
Diebougou cave
Lake Tengrela

Burkina Faso official website

The World Factbook