Republic of Cameroon


“Paix, Travail, Patrie” (french)
“Peace, Work, Fatherland”


“Ô Cameroun, berceau de nos ancêtres”
“O Cameroon, Cradle of Our Forefathers”


Capital: Yaounde
Largest City: Douala
Total area: 475,440 sq km
Climate: From tropical along coast to semiarid and hot in north
Natural resources: Petroleum, bauxite, iron ore, timber, hydropower
Border countries: Central African Republic, Chad, Republic of the Congo,
Equatorial Guinea, Gabon Nigeria

People and Society

Population: 23,739,218
Demonym: Cameroonian
Languages: 24 major African language groups, English (official), French (official)
Ethnic groups: Cameroon Highlanders, Equatorial Bantu,
Kirdi, Fulani, Northwestern Bantu, Eastern Nigritic
Religions: Indigenous beliefs, Christian, Muslim


Independence: 1 January 1960 (from French-administered UN trusteeship)
Government type: Republic, Multiparty presidential regime
Chief of state: Paul BIYA (since 1982)


Currency: Central African CFA franc
Exports: Crude oil and petroleum products, lumber, cocoa beans, aluminum, coffee, cotton
Industries: Petroleum production and refining, aluminum production, food processing, light consumer goods, textiles, lumber, ship repair

Tourism and Attraction

Mile six beach
Mount Cameroon
Waza National Park
Bouba Ndjida National Park
The Djingliya Crafts Centre
The Palace of Sultan Bamoun de Foumban

Visiting Cameroon
The World Factbook