Central African Republic


“Unité, Dignité, Travail” (frecnh)
“Unity, Dignity, Work”


“E Zingo” (Sango)
“La Renaissance” (french)
“The Renaissance”


Capital: Bangui
Largest City: Bangui
Total area: 622,984 sq km
Climate: Tropical, hot, dry winters, mild to hot, wet summers
Natural resources: Diamonds, uranium, timber, gold, oil, hydropower
Border countries: Cameroon, Chad, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Congo, South Sudan, Sudan

People and Society

Population: 5,391,539
Demonym: Central African
Languages: French (official), Sangho (national language), tribal languages
Ethnic groups: Baya, Banda, Mandjia, Sara, Mboum, M’Baka, Yakoma
Religions: indigenous beliefs, Protestant, Roman Catholic, Muslim


Independence: 13 August 1960 (from France)
Government type: Republic
Chief of state: Interim President Catherine SAMBA-PANZA (since 2014)


Currency: Central African CFA franc
Exports: Diamonds, timber, cotton, coffee
Industries: Gold and diamond mining, logging, brewing, sugar refining

Tourism and Attraction

Boali Falls
The Boganda National Museum
The Dzanga-Ndoki National Park
The Bamingui-Bangoran National Park
Manovo-Gounda St. Floris National Park

The World Factbook