Republic of Cote d’Ivoire



“Union, Discipline, Travail” (french)
“Unity, Discipline, Work”


“L’Abidjanaise” (french)
“Song of Abidjan”


Capital: Yamoussoukro
Largest City: Abidjan
Total area: 322,463 sq km
Climate: Tropical, semiarid,warm, hot, dry, wet
Natural resources: Petroleum, natural gas, diamonds, manganese, iron ore,
cobalt, bauxite, copper, gold,nickel, tantalum,silica sand, clay, cocoa beans, coffee, palm oil, hydropower
Border countries: Burkina Faso, Ghana, Guinea, Liberia, Mali

People and Society

Population: 23,295,302
Demonym: Ivoirian
Languages: French (official), 60 native dialects
of which Dioula is the most widely spoken
Ethnic groups: Akan, Voltaiques/Gur, Northern Mandes, Krous, Southern Mandes
Religions: Muslim, Christian, indigenous beliefs


Independence: 7 August 1960 (from France)
Government type: Republic
Chief of state: Alassane Dramane OUATTARA (since 2015, 2nd mandate)


Currency: West African CFA franc
Exports: Cocoa, coffee, timber, petroleum, cotton, bananas, pineapples, palm oil, fish
Industries: Foodstuffs, beverages; wood products, oil refining, gold mining,
truck and bus assembly, textiles, fertilizer, building materials, electricity

Tourism and Attraction

Basilica of Our Lady of Peace
Comoé National Park
Taï National Park
Banco National Park
Bassam, Assouindé, Assinie
Mount Toura, Nimba, Tonkui & Dent de Man

The World Factbook
Visiting Cote d’Ivoire