Democratic Republic of the Congo


“Paix, Justice,Travail” (french)
“Peace, Justice, Work”


“Debout Congolais” (french)
“Arise Congolese


Capital: Kinshasa
Largest City: Kinshasa
Total area: 2,344,858 sq km
Climate: Tropical, hot and humid, cool, wet season, dry season
Natural resources: Cobalt, copper, niobium, tantalum, petroleum, industrial and gem diamonds, gold, silver, zinc, manganese, tin, uranium, coal, hydropower, timber
Border countries: Angola, Burundi, Central African Republic,
Republic of the Congo, Rwanda, South Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia

People and Society

Population: 79,375,136
Demonym: Congolese
Languages: French (official), Lingala, Kingwana (a dialect of Kiswahili or Swahili), Kikongo, Tshiluba
Ethnic groups: Mongo, Luba, Kongo and the Mangbetu-Azande
Religions: Roman Catholic, Protestant, Kimbanguist, Muslim, syncretic sects and indigenous beliefs


Independence: 30 June 1960 (from Belgium)
Government type: Republic
Chief of state: Joseph KABILA (since 2001)


Currency: Congolese franc
Exports: Diamonds, copper, gold, cobalt, wood products, crude oil, coffee
Industries: mining (copper, cobalt, gold, diamonds, coltan, zinc, tin, tungsten), mineral processing, consumer products (textiles, plastics, footwear, cigarettes), metal products, processed foods and beverages, timber, cement, commercial ship repair

Tourism and Attraction

The Congo River
Livingstone Falls
Mount Nyiragongo
The Virunga National Park
Lola Ya Bonobo – Bonobo sanctuary

Visiting Congo Kinshasa
The World Factbook