Republic of Equatorial Guinea


“Unidad, Paz, Justicia” (spanish)
“Unity, Peace, Justice”


“Caminemos pisando las sendas de nuestra inmensa felicidad” (spanish)
“Let Us Tread the Path”


Capital: Malabo
Largest City: Bata
Total area: 28,051 sq km
Climate: Tropical, always hot, humid
Natural resources: Petroleum, natural gas, timber,
gold, bauxite, diamonds, tantalum, sand and gravel, clay
Border countries: Cameroon, Gabon

People and Society

Population: 740,743
Demonym: Equatorial Guinean or Equatoguinean
Languages: Spanish (official), French (official), Fang, Bubi
Ethnic groups: Fang, Bubi, Mdowe, Annobon, Bujeba
Religions: Christian, Roman Catholic


Independence: 12 October 1968 (from Spain)
Government type: Republic
Chief of state: Brig. Gen. (Ret.) Teodoro Obiang NGUEMA MGASOGO (since 1979)


Currency: Central African CFA franc
Exports: Petroleum products, timber
Industries: Petroleum, natural gas, sawmilling

Tourism and Attraction

Pico Basilé
Malabo Cathedral
The Cascades of Moca
Monte Alén National Park
Museum of Modern Art Equatorial Guinea

Visiting Equatorial Guinea 
The World Factbook