State of Eritrea


“The State of Eritrea” 


“Ertra, Ertra, Ertra” (Tigrinya)
Eritrea, Eritrea, Eritrea


Capital: Asmara
Largest City: Asmara
Total area: 117,600 sq km
Climate: Hot, dry desert, cooler and wetter in the central highlands, semiarid
Natural resources: Gold, potash, zinc, copper, salt, possibly oil and natural gas, fish
Border countries: Djibouti, Ethiopia, Sudan

People and Society

Population: 6,527,689
Demonym: Eritrean
Languages: Tigrinya (official), Arabic (official), English (official),
Tigre, Kunama, Afar, other Cushitic languages
Ethnic groups: Tigrinya, Tigre, Saho, Kunama, Rashaida, Bilen, Afar, Beni Amir, Nera
Religions: Muslim, Coptic Christian, Roman Catholic, Protestant


Independence: 24 May 1993 (from Ethiopia)
Government type: Authoritarian presidential regime
Chief of state: ISAIAS Afworki (since 1993)


Currency: Nakfa
Exports: Gold and other minerals, livestock, sorghum, textiles, food, small manufactures
Industries: Food processing, beverages, clothing and textiles, light manufacturing, salt, cement

Tourism and Attraction

Governors Palace
Agordat – Grande mosque
Adulis – archeological site
Dahlak Islands, Eritrea’s coral frontier

Visiting Eritrea
The World Factbook