Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia


Currently none 


“Whedefit Gesgeshi Woud Enat Ethiopia” (Amharic)
“March Forward, Dear Mother Ethiopia”


Capital: Addis Ababa
Largest City: Addis Ababa
Total area: 1,104,300 sq km
Climate: Tropical monsoon
Natural resources: Small reserves of gold, platinum, copper, potash, natural gas, hydropower
Border countries: Djibouti, Eritrea, Kenya, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan

People and Society

Population: 99,465,819
Demonym: Ethiopian
Languages: Oromo (official working language in the State of Oromiya), Amharic (official national language), Somali (official working language of the State of Sumale), Tigrinya (official working language of the State of Tigray), Sidamo, Wolaytta, Gurage, Afar (official working language of the State of Afar), Hadiyya, Gamo, Gedeo, Opuuo, Kafa, English, Arabic
Ethnic groups: Oromo, Amhara, Somali, Tigray,
Sidama, Gurage, Welaita, Hadiya, Afar, Gamo, Gedeo, Silte, Kefficho
Religions: Ethiopian Orthodox, Muslim, Protestant, traditional religion, Catholic


Independence: Oldest independent country in Africa and one of the oldest in the world
Government type: Federal republic
Chief of state: MULATU Teshome Wirtu (since 2013)


Currency: Birr
Exports: Coffee, khat, gold, leather products, live animals, oilseeds
Industries: Food processing, beverages, textiles, leather, chemicals, metals processing, cement

Tourism and Attraction

Lake Tana
Omo National Park
Simien National Park
The National Museum of Ethiopia
Holy Trinity Cathedral – Addis Ababa

Visiting Ethiopia
The World Factbook