Republic of Guinea


“Travail, Justice, Solidarité” (french)
“Work, Justice, Solidarity”


“Liberté” (french)


Capital: Conakry
Largest City: Conakry
Total area: 245,857 sq km
Climate: Hot, humid, rainy and drys season, winds
Natural resources: Bauxite, iron ore, diamonds, gold, uranium, hydropower, fish, salt
Border countries: Cote d’Ivoire, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Senegal, Sierra Leone

People and Society

Population: 11,780,162
Demonym: Guinean
Languages: French (official), Fula, Malinke, Soussou (native languages)
Ethnic groups: Peuhl, Malinke, Soussou and smaller groups
Religions: Muslim, Christian, indigenous beliefs


Independence: 2 October 1958 (from France)
Government type: Republic
Chief of state: Alpha CONDE (since 2015)


Currency: Guinean franc
Exports: Bauxite, gold, diamonds,
coffee,fish, agricultural products
Industries: Bauxite, gold, diamonds, iron ore,
light manufacturing, agricultural processing

Tourism and Attraction

Îles de Los
Fouta Djallon
The Conakry Grand Mosque
The Conakry Botanical Garden
The National Museum of Guinea
The Kakimbon Caves

The World Factbook