Republic of Kenya


“Harambee” (Swahili)
“Let us all pull together”


Ee Mungu Nguvu Yetu” (Swahili)
“Oh God of All Creation”


Capital: Nairobi
Largest City: Nairobi
Total area: 580,367 sq km
Climate: From tropical along coast to arid in interior
Natural resources: Limestone, soda ash, salt, gemstones,
fluorspar, zinc, diatomite, gypsum, wildlife, hydropower
Border countries: Ethiopia, Somalia, South Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda

People and Society

Population: 45,925,301
Demonym: Kenyan
Languages: English (official), Kiswahili (official), numerous indigenous languages
Ethnic groups: Kikuyu, Luhya, Luo, Kalenjin, Kamba, Kisii, Meru
Religions: Christian, Muslim, Traditionalists


Independence: 12 December 1963 (from the UK)
Government type: Republic
Chief of state: Uhuru KENYATTA (since 2013)


Currency: Kenyan shilling
Exports: Tea, horticultural products, coffee, petroleum products, fish, cement
Industries: Small-scale consumer goods (plastic, furniture, batteries, textiles, clothing, soap, cigarettes, flour), agricultural products, horticulture, oil refining; aluminum, steel, lead, cement, commercial ship repair, tourism

Tourism and Attraction

The Ruins of Gedi
Tsavo West National Park
The Samburu National Reserve
Watamu Marine National Park
Bomas of Kenya is a tourist village
The Maasai Mara National Reserve

Visiting Kenya
The World Factbook