Kingdom of Lesotho


“Khotso, Pula, Nala” (Sotho)
“Peace, Rain, Prosperity”


“Lesotho fatse la bo ntat’a rona” (Sotho)
“Lesotho, Land of Our Fathers”


Capital: Maseru
Largest City: Maseru
Total area: 30,355 sq km
Climate: Temperate, cool to cold, dry winters, hot, wet summers
Natural resources: Water, agricultural and grazing land, diamonds, sand, clay, building stone
Border countries: South Africa

People and Society

Population: 1,947,701
Demonym: Mosotho (singular), Basotho (plural)
Languages: Sesotho (official) (southern Sotho), English (official), Zulu, Xhosa
Ethnic groups: Sotho
Religions: Christian, indigenous beliefs


Independence: 4 October 1966 (from the UK)
Government type: Parliamentary constitutional monarchy
Chief of state: King LETSIE III (since 1996)


Currency: Lesotho loti
Exports: Manufactures (clothing, footwear),
wool and mohair, food and live animals, electricity, water, diamonds
Industries: Food, beverages, textiles, apparel assembly, handicrafts, construction, tourism

Tourism and Attraction

Sani Pass
Maletsunyane Falls
The Sehlabathebe National Park

The World Factbook