Republic of Madagascar


“Fitiavana, Tanindrazana, Fandrosoana” (Malagasy)
“Amour, patrie, progrès” (french)
“Love, Fatherland, Progress”


“Ry Tanindraza nay malala o” (Malagasy)
Oh, Beloved Land of our Ancestors!


Capital: Antananarivo
Largest City: Antananarivo
Total area: 587,041 sq km
Climate: Tropical along coast, temperate inland, arid in south
Natural resources: graphite, chromite, coal, bauxite, rare earth elements,
salt, quartz, tar sands, semiprecious stones, mica, fish, hydropower
Nearest countries: Mozambique, Comoros, Seychelles, Mauritius, Reunion

People and Society

Population: 23,812,681
Demonym: Malagasy
Languages: French (official), Malagasy (official), English
Ethnic groups: Malayo-Indonesian (Merina and related Betsileo),
Cotiers (mixed African, Malayo-Indonesian, and Arab ancestry – Betsimisaraka, Tsimihety, Antaisaka, Sakalava), French, Indian, Creole, Comoran
Religions: Indigenous beliefs, Christian, Muslim


Independence: 26 June 1960 (from France)
Government type: Republic
Chief of state: Hery Martial RAJAONARIMAMPIANINA Rakotoarimana (since 2014)


Currency: Malagasy ariary
Exports: Coffee, vanilla, shellfish, sugar, cotton cloth, clothing, chromite, petroleum products
Industries: Meat processing, seafood, soap, beer, leather, sugar,
textiles, glassware, cement, automobile assembly plant, paper, petroleum, tourism, mining

Tourism and Attraction

Nosy Mangabe
Isalo National Park
The Alley of the Baobabs
Ranomafana National Park
Amber Mountain National Park

Visiting Madagascar
The World Factbook