Republic of Mauritius


“Stella Clavisque Maris Indici” (latin)
“Star and Key of the Indian Ocean”




Capital: Port Louis
Largest City: Port Louis
Total area: 2,040 sq km
Climate: Tropical, southeast trade winds, warm, dry winter, hot, wet, humid summer
Natural resources: Arable land, fish
Nearest countries: Madagascar, Reunion

People and Society

Population: 1,339,827
Demonym: Mauritian
Languages: English (official language spoken by less than 1% of the population), Creole, Bhojpuri, French
Ethnic groups: Indo-Mauritian, Creole, Sino-Mauritian, Franco-Mauritian
Religions: Hindu, Roman Catholic, Muslim, Christian


Independence: 12 March 1968 (from the UK)
Government type: Parliamentary democracy
Chief of state: Ameenah GURIB-FAKIM (since 2015)


Currency: Mauritian rupee
Exports: Clothing and textiles, sugar, cut flowers, molasses, fish, primates (for research)
Industries: Food processing (largely sugar milling), textiles, clothing, mining, chemicals, metal products, transport equipment, nonelectrical machinery, tourism

Tourism and Attraction

Tamarin Falls
Mauritius Aquarium
Blue penny museum
Black River Gorges National Park
Trou aux Cerfs – Dormant volcano
The Sir Seewoosagur Ramgoolam Botanical Garden

Visiting Mauritius
The World Factbook