Republic of Namibia


“Unity, Liberty, Justice”


Namibia, Land of the Brave


Capital: Windhoek
Largest City: Windhoek
Total area: 824,292 sq km
Climate: Desert, hot, dry, rainfall sparse and erratic
Natural resources: Diamonds, copper, uranium, gold, silver,
lead, tin, lithium, cadmium, tungsten, zinc, salt, hydropower, fish
Border countries: Angola, Botswana, South Africa, Zambia

People and Society

Population: 2,212,307
Demonym: Namibian
Languages: English (official), Oshiwambo languages, Nama/Damara, Afrikaans 10.4% (common language of most of the population and about 60% of the white population), Otjiherero languages,
Kavango languages, Caprivi languages
Ethnic groups: Ovambo, Kavangos tribe, Herero, Damara, Nama, Caprivian, Bushmen, Baster, Tswana
Religions: Christian, indigenous beliefs


Independence: 21 March 1990 (from South African mandate)
Government type: Republic
Chief of state: Hage GEINGOB (since 2015)


Currency: Namibian dollar
Exports: Diamonds, copper, gold, zinc, lead, uranium; cattle, white fish and mollusks
Industries: Meatpacking, fish processing, dairy products, pasta, beverages, mining (diamonds, lead, zinc, tin, silver, tungsten, uranium, copper

Tourism and Attraction

Caprivi Strip
Fish River Canyon
Etosha National Park
National Marine Aquarium

Visiting Nambia
The World Factbook