Republic of Niger


“Fraternity, Travail, Progrès” (french)
“Fraternity, Work, Progress”


“La Nigérienne” (french)
“The Nigerien”


Capital: Niamey
Largest City: Niamey
Total area: 1.267 million sq km
Climate: desert, mostly hot, dry, dusty, tropical
Natural resources: Uranium, coal, iron ore, tin,
phosphates, gold, molybdenum, gypsum, salt, petroleum
Border countries: Algeria, Benin, Burkina Faso, Chad, Libya, Mali, Nigeria

People and Society

Population: 18,045,729
Demonym: Nigerien
Languages: French (official), Hausa, Djerma, Fulful, Gourmanchéma, Kanuri
Ethnic groups: Haoussa, Djerma Sonrai, Tuareg, Peuhl, Kanouri Manga
Religions: Muslim, Christian, indigenous beliefs


Independence: 3 August 1960 (from France)
Government type: Republic
Chief of state: ISSOUFOU Mahamadou (since 2011)


Currency: West African CFA franc
Exports: Uranium ore, livestock, cowpeas, onions
Industries: Uranium mining, petroleum, cement, brick,
soap, textiles, food processing, chemicals, slaughterhouses

Tourism and Attraction

‘W’ National Park
Historic Centre of Agadez
Niamey Grand Market
The Grande Mosquée in Niamey
The National Museum of Niger

The World Factbook