Federal Republic of Nigeria


“Unity and Faith, Peace and Progress”


“Arise, O Compatriots


Capital: Abuja
Largest City: Lagos
Total area: 923,768 sq km
Climate: Equatorial in south, tropical in center, arid in north
Natural resources: Natural gas, petroleum, tin, iron ore,
coal,limestone, niobium, lead, zinc, arable land
Border countries: Benin, Cameroon, Chad, Niger

People and Society

Population: 181,562,056
Demonym: Nigerian
Languages: English (official), Hausa, Yoruba, Igbo (Ibo), Fulani
and 500 additional indigenous languages
Ethnic groups: Hausa, the Fulani, Yoruba, Igbo, Ijaw, Kanuri, Ibibio, Tiv
Religions: Muslim, Christian, indigenous beliefs


Independence: 1 October 1960 (from the UK)
Government type: Federal Republic
Chief of state: Muhammadu BUHARI (since 2015)


Currency: Naira
Exports: petroleum and petroleum products 95%, cocoa, rubber
Industries: Crude oil, coal, tin, columbite; rubber products, wood;
hides and skins, textiles, cement and other construction materials,
food products, footwear, chemicals, fertilizer, printing, ceramics, steel

Tourism and Attraction

Gurara falls
Olumo Rock
Zuma Rock – Abuja
Yankari National Park
Nigerian National Museum
Osun-Osogbo Sacred Grove

The World Factbook