Republic of Rwanda


“Ubumwe, Umurimo, Gukunda Igihugu” (Kinyarwanda)
“Unity, Work, Patriotism”


“Rwanda nziza”(Kinyarwanda)
“Beautiful Rwanda”


Capital: Kigali
Largest City: Kigali
Total area: 26,338 sq km
Climate: Temperate, two rainy seasons, mild in mountains with frost and possible snow
Natural resources: Gold, cassiterite (tin ore), wolframite (tungsten ore), methane, hydropower, arable land
Border countries: Burundi, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Tanzania, Uganda

People and Society

Population: 12,661,733
Demonym: Rwandan
Languages: Kinyarwanda (official), French (official), Swahili
Ethnic groups: Hutu (Bantu), Tutsi (Hamitic), Twa (Pygmy)
Religions: Roman Catholic, Protestant, Muslim, Animist


Independence: 1 July 1962 (from Belgium-administered UN trusteeship)
Government type: Republic, presidential, multiparty system
Chief of state: Paul KAGAME (since 22 April 2000)


Currency: Rwandan franc
Exports: Coffee, tea, hides, tin ore
Industries: Cement, agricultural products, small-scale beverages, soap, furniture, shoes, plastic goods, textiles, cigarettes

Tourism and Attraction

Lake Kivu
Akagera National Park
The Nyungwe rainforest
Volcanoes National Park
National Museum of Rwanda
The Kigali Genocide Memorial

Visiting Rwanda
The World Factbook