Republic of Senegal


“Un peuple, un but, une foi” (french)
“One people, one goal, one faith”


“Pincez Tous vos Koras, Frappez les Balafons” (french)
Pluck Your Koras, Strike the Balafons


Capital: Dakar
Largest City: Dakar
Total area: 196,722 sq km
Climate: tropical, hot, humid, rainy season,
strong southeast winds, dry season, dry, harmattan wind
Natural resources: Fish, phosphates, iron ore
Border countries: The Gambia, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Mali, Mauritania

People and Society

Population: 13,975,834
Demonym: Senegalese
Languages: French (official), Wolof, Pulaar, Jola, Mandinka (ethnic languages)
Ethnic groups: Wolof, Pular, Serer, Jola, Mandinka, Soninke
Religions: Muslim, Christian, indigenous beliefs


Independence: 4 April 1960 (from France)
Government type: Republic
Chief of state: Macky SALL (since 2012)


Currency: CFA franc
Exports: Fish, groundnuts, petroleum products, phosphates, cotton
Industries: agricultural and fish processing, phosphate mining,fertilizer production,
petroleum refining, zircon, and gold mining, construction materials, ship construction and repair

Tourism and Attraction

Lake Retba
Island of Gorée
Island of Saint-Louis
Saloum Delta National Park
African Renaissance Monument

The World Factbook
Visiting Senegal