Federal Republic of Somalia


None to date


“Qolobaa Calankeed” (Somali)
“Every Nation Has its own Flag”


Capital: Mogadishu
Largest City: Mogadishu
Total area: 637,657 sq km
Climate: Principally desert, monsoon, moderate and hot temperatures hot, torrid, irregular rainfall, humid
Natural resources: Uranium and largely unexploited reserves of iron ore, tin, gypsum, bauxite, copper, salt, natural gas, likely oil reserves
Border countries: Djibouti, Ethiopia, Kenya

People and Society

Population: 10,616,380
Demonym: Somali
Languages: Somali (official), Arabic (official), Italian, English
Ethnic groups: Somali, Bantu and other non-Somali
Religions: Muslim


Independence: 1 July 1960 (from a merger of British Somaliland that became independent from the UK and Italian Somaliland that became independent from the Italian-administered UN trusteeship)
Government type: In the process of building a federal parliamentary republic
Chief of state: HASSAN SHEIKH Mohamud (since 10 September 2012)


Currency: Somali shilling
Exports: Livestock, bananas, hides, fish, charcoal, scrap metal
Industries: Light industries, including sugar refining, textiles, wireless communication

Tourism and Attraction

The Sinbusi Beach
The Bakaara Market – Mogadishu
Lag Badana National Park
Laas Geel, complex of caves and rock shelters

Visiting Somalia
The World Factbook