Republic of South Africa


“!ke e: ǀxarra ǁke” (ǀXam)
“Unity in diversity”


“National anthem of South Africa”


Capital: Pretoria (administrative), Cape Town (legislative), Bloemfontein (judicial)
Largest City: Johannesburg
Total area: 1,219,090 sq km
Climate: Mostly semiarid, subtropical along east coast, sunny days, cool nights
Natural resources: Gold, chromium, antimony, coal, iron ore, manganese, nickel, phosphates, tin, rare earth elements, uranium, gem diamonds, platinum, copper, vanadium, salt, natural gas
Border countries: Botswana, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, Swaziland, Zimbabwe

People and Society

Population: 53,675,563
Demonym: South African
Languages: IsiZulu (official), IsiXhosa (official), Afrikaans (official), English (official), Sepedi (official), Setswana (official), Sesotho (official), Xitsonga (official), siSwati (official), Tshivenda (official), isiNdebele (official)
Ethnic groups: black African 80.2%, white 8.4%, colored 8.8%, Indian/Asian 2.5%
Religions: Protestant, Catholic, Muslim


Independence: 27 April 1994 (end of apartheid)
Government type: Republic
Chief of state: Jacob ZUMA (since 2009)


Currency: South African rand
Exports: Gold, diamonds, platinum, other metals and minerals, machinery and equipment
Industries: Mining (world’s largest producer of platinum, gold, chromium), automobile assembly, metalworking, machinery, textiles, iron and steel, chemicals, fertilizer, foodstuffs, commercial ship repair

Tourism and Attraction

Garden Route
The Winelands
Robben Island
Apartheid Museum
Kruger National Park
Cape Town & Cape Peninsula
Blade River Canyon Nature Reserve
The South African National Art Gallery


Visiting South Africa
The World Factbook