Kingdom of Swaziland


“Siyinqaba” (Swati)
“We Are The Fortress”


“Nkulunkulu Mnikati wetibusiso temaSwati” (Swati)
Oh God, Bestower of the Blessings of the Swazi


Capital: Mbabane (Lobamba is the royal and legislative capital)
Largest City: Mbabane
Total area: 17,364 sq km
Climate: From tropical to near temperate
Natural resources: Asbestos, coal, clay, cassiterite, hydropower,
forests, small gold and diamond deposits, quarry stone, and talc
Border countries: Mozambique, South Africa

People and Society

Population: 1,435,613
Demonym: Swazi
Languages: English (official, used for government business), siSwati (official)
Ethnic groups: Swazi
Religions: Zionist (a blend of Christianity and indigenous ancestral worship), Roman Catholic, Muslim, Anglican, Baha’i, Methodist, Mormon, Jewish


Independence: 6 September 1968 (from the UK)
Government type: Monarchy
Chief of state: King MSWATI III (since 1986)


Currency: South African rand & Swazi lilangeni
Exports: Soft drink concentrates, sugar, timber, cotton yarn, refrigerators, citrus and canned fruit
Industries: Coal, forestry, sugar, soft drink concentrates, textiles and apparel

Tourism and Attraction

Hlane royal national park
Malolotja Nature Reserve
Mlilwane wildlife sanctuary

Visiting Swaziland
The World Factbook