United Republic of Tanzania


“Uhuru na Umoja” (Swahili)
“Freedom and Unity”


“Mungu ibariki Afrika” (Swahili)
“God bless Africa”


Capital: Dodoma
Largest City: Dar es Salaam
Total area: 947,300 sq km
Climate: From tropical along coast to temperate in highlands
Natural resources: Hydropower, tin, phosphates, iron ore, coal, diamonds, gemstones, gold, natural gas, nickel
Border countries: Burundi, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Kenya, Malawi, Mozambique, Rwanda, Uganda, Zambia

People and Society

Population: 51,045,882
Demonym: Tanzanian
Languages: Swahili (official), Kiunguja (name for Swahili in Zanzibar), English (official), Arabic  (widely spoken in Zanzibar)
Ethnic groups: African 99% (of which 95% are Bantu consisting of more than 130 tribes), other 1% (consisting of Asian, European, and Arab), Arab, African, mixed Arab and African
Religions: Christian, Muslim, indigenous beliefs


Independence: 26 April 1964 (from the UK)
Government type: Republic
Chief of state: John Magufuli (since 2015)


Currency: Tanzanian shilling
Exports: Gold, coffee, cashew nuts, manufactures, cotton
Industries: Agricultural processing (sugar, beer, cigarettes, sisal twine); mining (diamonds, gold, and iron), salt, soda ash, cement, oil refining, shoes, apparel, wood products, fertilizer

Tourism and Attraction

Lake Victoria
Mount Meru
Hamamni Persian Baths
Serengeti National Park

Visiting Tanzania
The World Factbook