Republic of Uganda


“For God and My Country”


“Oh Uganda, Land of Beauty”


Capital: Kampala
Largest City: Kampala
Total area: 241,038 sq km
Climate: Tropical, rainy with two dry seasons, semiarid
Natural resources: Copper, cobalt, hydropower, limestone, salt, arable land, gold
Border countries: Democratic Republic of the Congo, Kenya, Rwanda, South Sudan, Tanzania

People and Society

Population: 37,101,745
Demonym: Ugandan
Languages: English (official), Ganda or Luganda, Niger-Congo and Nilo-Saharan languages, Swahili, Arabic
Ethnic groups: Baganda, Banyankole, Basoga, Bakiga, Iteso, Langi, Acholi, Bagisu, Lugbara, Bunyoro
Religions: Roman Catholic, Protestant, Muslim


Independence: 9 October 1962 (from the UK)
Government type: Republic
Chief of state: Yoweri Kaguta MUSEVENI (since 1986)


Currency: Uganda shilling
Exports: Coffee, fish and fish products, tea, cotton, flowers, horticultural products, gold
Industries: Sugar, brewing, tobacco, cotton textiles; cement, steel production

Tourism and Attraction

The Kasubi Tombs
Bwindi Impenetrable Forest
Mount Elgon National Park
Queen Elizabeth Park

Visiting Tanzania
The World Factbook