Republic of Zimbabwe


“Unity, Freedom, Work”


“Blessed be the Land of Zimbabwe”


Capital: Harare
Largest City: Harare
Total area: 390,757 sq km
Climate: Tropical, moderated by altitude, rainy season
Natural resources: Coal, chromium ore, asbestos, gold, nickel,
copper, iron ore, vanadium, lithium, tin, platinum group metals
Border countries: Botswana, Mozambique, South Africa, Zambia

People and Society

Population: 14,229,541
Demonym: Zimbabwean
Languages: Shona (official), Ndebele (official), English (official), Chewa, Chibarwe, Kalanga, Koisan, Nambya, Ndau, Shangani, Sotho, Tonga, Tswana, Venda, and Xhosa
Ethnic groups: African 99.4% (predominantly Shona; Ndebele is the second largest ethnic group)
Religions: Protestant, Roman Catholic, Christian, Muslim


Independence: 18 April 1980 (from the UK)
Government type: Parliamentary democracy
Chief of state: Robert Gabriel MUGABE (since 1987)


Currency: Zimbabwean dollars
Exports: Platinum, cotton, tobacco, gold, ferroalloys, textiles/clothing
Industries: Mining (coal, gold, platinum, copper, nickel, tin, diamonds, clay, numerous metallic and nonmetallic ores), steel, wood products, cement, chemicals, fertilizer, clothing and footwear, foodstuffs, beverages

Tourism and Attraction

Chimanimani District
Hwange National Park
Chapungu Sculpture Park
The Matobo National Park
Victoria Falls National park
Mana Pools National Park

Visiting Zimbabwe
The World Factbook